I’ve been working on this blog for a while now and I noticed a few things especially after I monitoring my blog’s performance on Google Webmaster tool.  Over the last couple of months I’ve noticed my blog posts have higher impressions and click-through rates than ever before.

It’s amazing how many people have stumbled across here since I submitted my sitemap to Google’s webmaster tool. My blog post is on page one of Google for the term ‘egobait link building‘.   However, I still do need to optimise it further with meta descriptions for each post. Whilst I am on that note, since this is a wordpress.com blog I cannot give each post separate meta descriptions as the amount of control I have on the back-end of things is limited.

Therefore, I have come to the conclusion that I will move this blog over to wordpress.org blog and set up a proper website so that I can have more control over things.

SEO Benefits Of Having a WordPress.Org Site

1. Authorship:

I don’t know about your wordpress.com blog,  but it has taken a while for me to get my blog verified on Google+ and this is also down to the fact that I have not been blogging as often as I should have.  This was also down to the fact that it was a struggle trying to get to the part where I put in the Google+ rel author tag at the end of each post, just so the search engines could understand that I am the author of the blog. On a self hosted blog all I have to do is place the Rel tag in the header section of the homepage in the back-end of things and it will be verified.

3. SEO Plugins with A Self Hosted WordPress.org Blog

With wordpress.org there is one phenomenal and powerful SEO plugin by Yoast called all in one SEO.  I have used it before when I was optimising the content on one of my clients blog.  That tool works wonders and I can say for one that it really makes a difference. Being able write meta descriptions for each blog post and mention the relevant keywords for each post really increased their visibility in the search engines.

Yes, having more control can really make a difference and it has made me want to get the most of the my blog. So Please bear with me as I get this started.

The Solution:  Moving From WordPress.com To WordPress.org

It seems like it will be easier to manage my blog from a wordpress.org site. I will be able manage it more from the back-end of things and optimise it further.

What do you think?  Have you moved your wordpress.com blog to a self hosted one?  How are you managing your blog? Any relevant tips would do, I really need it.

By Ibukun Sodipe